Fab Find! Trista Sutter’s Book is a Must-Read for Brides and Grooms

trista 2

I’ve been starstruck by two people recently: Colin Cowie (I giggled and walked away when he said he owned my books) and Trista Sutter, who just Tweeted me to thank me for Tweeting about her new book, Happily Ever After: The Life-Changing Power of a Grateful Heart.

I LOVED this book and it’s my new Fab Find, a Must-Read for any brides and grooms preparing for life after the wedding (and you’ll be MUCH happier if you put Trista’s wisdom into practice before the wedding.)

Here’s the description from Amazon:

Sometimes it’s the smallest gestures and the most unassuming things that can have the greatest effects. Trista is often asked her secret to being one of the rare reality-TV relationships to make it to the altar and beyond. In this heartfelt book, she shares the simple yet profound keys to finding everyday happiness: gratitude and grace. From the blink-and-you’ll-miss-them moments we have with our kids, our spouses, our pets, or even strangers, to the more obvious lessons we pick up from reading the news or hearing an inspirational story, knowing how to recognize, accept, and be grateful for all of our daily blessings is truly what “happily ever after” means.

Ten years later, the first Bachelorette talks of marriage, family, friendship, and how powerfully gratitude can transform your life.

Happily ever after isn’t always glamorous. It has nothing to do with whether you can afford or fit into a dress right off the runway. It isn’t based on how many times you’ve had your hair and makeup done, what you get paid (or not) to do with your time, [or] how many square feet your house is . . . The universe has taught me so much, and undoubtedly will continue to do so. The main thing I’ve learned about what makes for a happy life, right up there with good health and lots of love, is gratitude.

My intent here is to share not only the lessons I’ve learned, but also those of my friends and family, those of strangers, and even teachings of some of the world’s most enlightened authors, philosophers, poets, and educators. I will never claim to be an expert, but you won’t have to take it from only me; there is plenty of research out there to back up the benefits of a grateful heart.

Leave a Reply

